Board of Directors

Current Board of Directors

Jennifer Acton – LLB(Hons), LLM, BEc, MEc, GAICD

Appointed: 1 December 2015

CommitteesMember Digital Transformation Committee, Investment Committee and Remuneration Committee

Experience: The Honourable Jennifer Acton is the Chair and a Non-Executive Director of the Company. Jennifer is also the Deputy Chair of Westernport Water and a Director of the Port of Hastings Development Authority.  She has previously been a Director in the transport and education industries.

Jennifer has particular expertise in strategic development, continuous improvement, stakeholder engagement, collaborative conflict resolution, workplace relations and sound governance. She has been a leader in many areas, and has more than 20 years’ experience as a Presidential member of industrial tribunals. In her work she has successfully facilitated major industrial outcomes for the infrastructure, services and manufacturing sectors and driven enterprise productivity improvements.

Jennifer was awarded the Centenary Medal in 2001 for her significant contribution to Australian society. She has a reputation for promoting an ethical agenda.

Sue-O'Connor State Trustees
Sue O’Connor – B App Sci, Grad Dip Bus Mgt, FAICD

Appointed: 3 December 2013

Committees: Chair Digital Transformation Committee, Member Investment Committee

Experience: A commercially astute and experienced Non-Executive Chairman and business leader, Sue is known for her passionate commitment to ensuring that companies operating in regulated markets successfully transform when faced with significant market disruption.

Sue brings to the board table over 25 years of board and senior leadership experience in a diverse range of industries including digital, financial services, telecommunications, utilities and infrastructure.  Her senior executive career includes 13 years at Telstra Corporation where she successfully led the establishment of a number of new businesses and company-wide transformations. She was also Managing Director of her own advisory firm delivering strategy, innovation and governance advice.

Sue is currently Chair of Yarra Valley Water, a Director of Mercer Superannuation, Transport Accident Commission and State Trustees Limited and Director and immediate past Chair of YMCA Victoria.

Sue has a Bachelor of Applied Science (mathematics, exercise physiology) and Graduate Diploma of Business Management. In her spare time Sue is a keen artist (photography and video) and a rower.

Pam-Mitchell State Trustees
Pam Mitchell – B.Bus, Dip Fin Services, CA

Appointed: 3 December 2013

Committees: Chair Remuneration Committee and Member Audit and Compliance Committee and Investment committee

Experience: Pam is a Chartered Accountant with extensive experience in the start-up, financial planning and prudent financial management of superannuation funds in a range of small and medium-size enterprises in the corporate, government and not-for-profit sectors.

Pam has held many board roles and has been Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary of a number of investment and property businesses including Industry Superannuation Property Trust, Becton Investment Management Limited and Australian Farms Fund Management Pty Ltd.

Pam is currently a director of Fed Square Pty Ltd and is on the Audit Committee of Department Economic Development, Jobs, Transport and Resources.

Mark Toohey – MAppFin, BBus (Acctg), FCA, FCPA

Appointed: 1 December 2015

Committees: Member Audit and Compliance Committee, Investment Committee and Remuneration Committee

Experience: Mark Toohey is a Non-Executive Director of the Company.  Mark was until recently Chief Financial Officer with Chandler Macleod and is the Director of his own consulting firm providing advice on strategy, growth and business development.

Mark was previously Executive Director and CFO for GE Capital in Asia and Australia, and held executive finance roles at ANZ Banking Group.  He is currently a Councillor and the Resources Committee Chair for Victoria University and Director and Finance Committee Chair for the Oakleigh Centre for Intellectually Disabled Citizens.

Mark has a Masters of Applied Finance and Bachelor of Business (Accounting). He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants Australia, a Fellow of CPA Australia and a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Cressida Wall – LLB(Hons), BA(Juris)

Appointed: 1 December 2015

Committees: Member Audit and Compliance Committee, Remuneration Committee and State Trustees Australia Foundation Advisory Committee

Experience: Cressida Wall is a Non-Executive Director of the Company.  Cressida has 15 years experience leading long term strategy and leadership experience at senior levels in the public sector.

Cressida is currently Director, SBDO Pty Ltd, Director/Head of Corporate Affairs for

Cressida has extensive Government and public policy experience gained through working as Head of Policy Development for former Premier John Brumby; Chief of Staff to Tim Pallas MP, former Minister for Roads, Ports and Major Projects; Senior Infrastructure Adviser to former Premier Steve Bracks; Chief of Staff to former Deputy Premier and Treasurer of South Australia; and Chief of Staff to the former Attorney General of South Australia.

Cressida has also worked as a Solicitor for Corrs Chambers Westgarth and Minter Ellison.

Cressida has a Bachelor of Laws (First Class Honours), Graduate Certificate in Legal Practice and Bachelor of Arts (Jurisprudence).